Reviews

Guest comments

We love our guests at The Mill, they are always so positive and kind with their comments and thoughts. Please see below a samples from Tripadvisor and we have lots of wonderful messages in the guest book that we leave in The Mill.

Tripadvisor Reviews

“A delightful house”

Left on Jan 22, 2018 for a stay in Jan 2018

We welcomed in 2018 in this beautiful house and had an amazing time. Attention to detail and a little bit of luxury flows throughout this house. From the small Kilner jars of popcorn and marshmallows for the kids to enjoy, to the kitchen decked out with everything you could desire for cooking. We all felt welcome in this lovely place. The design of the house and beautiful wooden touches throughout are amazing. Lulu was an amazing host and Harry lept to our aid on more than one occasion. Thankyou for such a wonderful stay.

“An absolute treasure!”

Left on Oct 9, 2017 for a stay in Sep 2017

1 people found this review helpful
It is hard to try and put into words what’s so special about the Mill because it’s mostly a feeling you get, from the minute you arrive! It’s got that special kind of magic, that seems to have touched each little detail and quirk in the entire place. And LOVE. So much love! The Watson’s have created somewhere truly wonderful that we will hold close to our hearts for years to come. The house has everything we needed and I imagine we could have had a delightful time exploring the area more had we not felt so settled and at home in the house! We didn’t want to leave! Lazy days spent cooking, relaxing, playing games and enjoying the steam shower and sauna. All in our pyjamas with a glass of wine in hand! Such a treat and a great way to enjoy some time away with friends! When you visit (which you will because you’d be crazy not to) don’t forget to go outside when it gets dark and look UP. You’ll see a sky full of stars and won’t hear a single sound for miles. Beautiful. Thank you for everything Lulu & Family. Looking forward to our next visit already! 🙂 x

Perfect

Left on May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at this enchanting venue. The attention to detail in every room is outstanding and the owners Lulu and Johny Could not have been more welcoming. It was overall a perfect experience.
theaitkens2017
Earlston, United Kingdom
Perfect weekend retreat
Left on May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Thank you for an amazing weekend at The Mill. From the moment we arrived and saw where we were staying, we were in heaven. This is a beautiful house and the surroundings are stunning. We were sad to leave this wonderful place. The bedrooms are luxurious and comfortable, the kitchen is a dream and the living room is so relaxing with its open fire. The hosts were really helpful and had thought of everything. Our kids especially enjoyed the complimentary marshmallows for toasting while the adults indulged in home made lemon drizzle cake – yum! Thank you again for a truly perfect weekend.

“Perfect Short Break”

Left on Apr 7, 2017 for a stay in Apr 2017 / Carass Family

The Mill definitely lives up to previous reviews. The stunning and peaceful location is ideal for an away from it all break. There are plenty of walks and tracks to keep you occupied or you could just sit on the large patio and enjoy the view while warming in front of the log burner and BBQ. Inside there isn’t really anything the owners could add to make the Mill any more comfortable. The huge open plan living/dining area with log burning fire and extremely well equipped kitchen suits families such as ours but also any group of friends/relatives who stay. There is a mezzanine level perfect to keep the kids entertained with tv and headphones, ours loved having their own space. Bedrooms are large and have lovely comfy beds, all ensuite with the added bonus of a sauna in one and steam room in another. Which ever room you ended up having, no one would feel they had drawn the short straw. We stayed for 4 nights but could happily have stayed longer, we will be returning. The weather was kind to us but I don’t think it would make much difference if it wasn’t so good, when you have such a lovely place to return to you don’t necessarily feel you have to be out and about all the time. Fill the fridge, drink champagne and watch the fire burn, who needs TV? Thanks Lulu, Johnny and family, you have got it just right.

“Outstanding”

Left on Feb 11, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2015 / Lucy F / Basildon, UK

First impressions of The Mill – Wow. We arrived a little early and thought we were going to have to hang around for hours, but after a quick call to Lulu she insisted we were allowed in early. We even had a plate of her delicious chocolate brownies to greet us! The decor has such a wonderful balance of modern with cottage feel, the big windows looking out over the beautiful Scottish countryside. Lulu was kind enough to have the Christmas Decorations up (the biggest real Christmas tree I’ve had) so we could celebrate second Christmas with the family. The kitchen/ Lounge area is so spacious, more than enough space to relax and unwind in front of the fire. The upstairs mezzanine is such a good idea, the kids could spend their chill out time up there without having to fight over the TV. All of the bedrooms are beautiful, comfortable beds, all en suite. And after a long, wet, windy day out hiking around the Scottish Borders what could be better than coming home to a sauna? We had a group of 10 family staying for New Years and we all fit comfortably without feeling crowded. The outdoor fire pit – despite the stormy week we had – we managed to get going for New Years Eve which was fantastic. Supermarkets are relatively close by, just a drive to Galashiels (the fridge is massive so stock up) We are looking to book again, there was so much to explore we didn’t get to do everything we wanted to. I highly recommend hiking up Grey Mare’s (should your fitness allow it), the views are incredible. Our hosts were so accommodating, Lulu and Johnny were at hand when we needed anything. Thank you again!

“Wonderful place, they’ve thought of everything!”

Nov 19, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2016 / MiddleAgedBird / Glasgow, UK

We returned to Lewinshope for our annual girls getaway simply because we couldn’t find anyway else that gave us everything we wanted. It’s great for a group of friends because the four large bedrooms can be made up as twins or super kings, and each has an en suite bathroom. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, it has everything you need to cook large meals, and the dining table is plenty big enough. Lots of space to lounge around and a big open fire. As the location is so well suited to walking, running and cycling, it’s good that there’s a big hallway for ‘gear’ and a utility room to sort out any wet clothes. It’s rare to find holiday accommodation that has everything, especially for large numbers, but Lewsinshope certainly does.

“Perfect”

Left on Aug 17, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 / Maria C

We spent a lovely week at the mill with all my husbands family. The quality of the renovation and workmanship is impressive. Lovely, lovely house and a great holiday in the Borders. Thank you

“Warm Welcome, Beautiful House, Stunning Location”

Left on Aug 17, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016 / Dunstone, Herefordshire, UK

We had a fantastic stay at the Mill. A very warm welcome from Lulu and family and a truly stunning home. We took so many pictures of the beautiful woodwork to inspire our budding joiner son back home! With St Marys Loch nearby we took our own kayak and had a great day – we also enjoyed a lovely lunch at the local salmon viewing center who also had lovely and welcoming staff!

“The Mill was the highlight of our 3-week UK holiday”

Aug 11, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 / Mary T. / Ohio, USA

The Mill was perfect. It was like staying in an HGTV Dream Home. Each bedroom/ensuite combo was unique and beautiful. The woodwork and furniture throughout the house is outstanding and lovely. We very much appreciated the large laundry room with full-sized washer and dryer, and drying rack with heated fan (the six of us go through a LOT of laundry.) With two dishwashers, the kitchen stayed tidy. There are so many unique features to this well-designed home. It was a treat just to walk through and note them all, such as the wall cut-out surrounded with LED lighting in the corner cabinet in the kitchen, adding much more light into the area. My entire family was thrilled with this property, and we were all sad when we had to leave. Would we book another overseas trip just to stay at this property? Well, yes. We just might.

“We loved our stay, it was perfect”

Jun 30, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016 / ruthmacewen /Scottish Highlands, UK

We have just enjoyed the most wonderful stay at The Mill. Nestled in the stunning countryside of the Scottish Borders, it is quiet and secluded, and was perfect for us to relax and catch up with family. The accommodation is of a very high standard and very comfortable with lots of attention to detail, and beautiful wooden finishes throughout. The owners have thought of everything. We have very happy memories of our stay. Thank you very much 🙂

Outstanding property in a beautiful place

Left on Nov 9, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015

A beautifully restored property in a lovely place. At night it was actually dark! No street lights so you could see millions of stars. The owners made you feel very welcome and their attention to detail was second to none. Loved spending a long weekend there with my family and going for long walks seeing all the colours of Autumn, I really couldn’t have asked for more. I Have to say that Lulu’s lemon drizzle cake, which was waiting for us on arrival, was gorgeous and went down a treat with a cuppa. It was just what we needed after walking miles with our dog! I’d definitely recommend this property to any one of my family and friends and we’ll definitely be visiting again – I can’t wait 🙂 The Mill has recently been awarded a five star rating and I must say it’s very well deserved. The Mill is a credit to both Lulu and Johnny.

Guestbook comments

15 March 2018

A wonderful 5th Wedding anniversary – following our marriage here on 16th March 2013! Baby Finn loved his first holiday and our families enjoyed being able to join us and relax! Beautiful view with snow on the hills for both our visits to the Mill… hopefully it won’t be five more years before we visit again!

Ruth, Mark and Finn from Bath with the Hutchby – Howards from Carlisle and the Websters from West Lothian.

23 -26 March 2018

As soon as we walked through the door, it felt like we were ‘coming home’. So happy to be returning to the ‘The Mill’, albeit for a shorter visit. Than you Johnny for letting us borrow the magnificent telescope and the opportunity to view the moon in all its glory. The mass of frogs in the pond became a significant feature and photographic opportunity in the course of the weekend. Many thanks Lulu for your wonderful lemon drizzle cake… our nephew is convinced it gets bigger each time we visit!!! You are so fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot and thank you again for sharing it with us.

Pam & Daren Jones

6 April 2018

What a fabulous week we’ve had and a wonderful setting to celebrate my 50th birthday with family. We lobe the atmosphere of the Mill and the wood detail. It’s set in the most gorgeous place. We’ve enjoyed our walks and runs up the hills and playing tennis (8 on the court!) in all weather. Most of all we’ve just enjoyed relaxing and using the lovely sauna. Thank you for letting the kids explore the Shepherd’s hut – they love it! Amazing lemon drizzle cake! We didn’t venture too far a field – too snowy – however we would recommend Seasons in Melrose for terrific food (locally sourced) and service. Thank you again for a special week!

Lindsey, Andy, Finlay and Martha xx

26 June 2018

Wonderful place! I can’t say enough about the hospitality of Lulu and Johnny who invited us to their picnic. They were gracious hosts. The house is beautiful and was the perfect place for our family vacation. We would recommend this home to anyone. Thank you for a fabulous time!

The Marshalls

24 July 2018

We have enjoyed the most incredible 5 days here. We are blessed to know Lulu and Johnny personally and to know them is to love them. Their love is in every detail of this place. A place to be still and disengage from the world. Wrap up and sit outside, get the fire going and enjoy the quiet that surrounds the Mill. We’ve loved the steam room, sauna, cooking, watching the fire, everything actually! We will be back soon!! Go find the ‘Jammy Coo’ for a cake stop or enjoy Bowhill nearby – great adventure playground for kids and adults!! Thank you special friends, we love you.

The Robinsons xx

12-19 Oct 2018

This time the snow was swapped with beautiful sunshine and we very much enjoyed our walks around Newark Tower and up the hills. Played loads of tennis and savoured the gorgeous setting and Autumn colours. The Mill was once again wonderfully comfortable and welcoming to us and our guests. We looked relaxed and made the most of it. Thank you once again for a terrific holiday.

Lindsey, Andy, Finlay and Martha (The Shields Waters Family)

22-28 Oct 2018

The Mill provided a perfect refuge for fishermen and partner where the day’s lack of catches could be soothed with wine and food!

Hamish, Jo Webb and various guests

19 Nov 2018

Thanks for the lovely times yet again at the Mill. Looking forward already to next year – our 10th Anniversary at your great place.

Heather

6 – 9 Feb 2019

Our stay was too short. We all fell in love with the Mill and it was the perfect Scottish giveaway. We truly love the beauty and Craftsmanship of this stunning home. It truly felt like home to us. Thank you for the memories.

The Roberts and The Newboulds

14 Feb 2019

We had a lovely time here. The kids loved playing outside on the see-saw, den building and throwing stones in the pond. The house is beautifully kitted out and the sauna and steam shower were a luxury for the adults. We will definitely be back! Thanks for welcoming us and for the delicious banana bread – (you don’t often get these extra touches so it’s greatly appreciated!)

Gaffney family xxx

22-25 Feb 2019

The Mill is stunning. The attention to detail is amazing. It was lovely to be greeted by Lulu and the lemon drizzle cake was a joy. Thank you Lulu for making our weekend trip the bet ever. We have staying in quite a few cottages/barns – but the Mill is by far the best. It is exceptional. We will be back.

Mick, Chris, Angela and John

Check availability of this luxury self catering holiday accommodation

How to book your holiday accommodation

The process is very easy! All you need to do is have a quick look at the accommodation availability and prices, and then please contact Johnny or Lulu Watson by email, telephone or post with your booking details.

Ask a question

If you have questions about The Mill, Shepherd’s Hut, Yurt, or anything else just fill in the form or give us a call.

11 + 12 =